Scope and Content

It’s fonds consists of records created or received by the Municipality of Argyle while carrying out its normal business activities. The fonds is divided into eight series of records including:

  • the general municipal files
  • financial records
  • tax collection records
  • overseers of the poor, welfare and social services records
  • public health records
  • records created by the recreation commission
  • election records
  • and printed material.

The records are arranged essentially in chronological order within each series or sub-series. The municipal clerk’s files (Series A) are arranged in chronological order in sub-series of one year and in alphabetical order within each year’s set of files as appears to have been the practice of the clerk during the records’ creation.

Title based on contents of fonds.

The majority of the fonds is in English; however, some of the correspondence is in French.

Restrictions on access apply to some of the records within the series relating to welfare and social services (Series D). Records which are restricted are closed to the public for 80 years from the date of their creation.

Credit must be given to the Argyle Township Court House Archives when material from this fonds is used or reproduced.

Further Related groups of records in different fonds:

  • Municipal Minute Books — RG5
  • Assessment rolls, Rate rolls and tax history reports — RG1
  • Municipality of Argyle School Board Fonds — RG 10
  • Town of Wedgeport Records – TMS
  • Photograph collection for photographs of Councillors and Wardens
  • Collection for photographs of Councillors and Wardens
  • TMS item lists
  • Poor Farm Register