Series B: Clerk’s Files. — 1913-1948. — 24 cm of textual records.

Series contains records created by the daily work of the Town Clerk in handling customary and legislative responsibilities of the Town. The Town Clerk held a position of considerable power, as it was the knowledge of the Clerk that Councillors often depended upon to assist them in making informed and responsible decisions. There were two Town Clerks in the Town of Wedgeport: Marin O. Pothier from 1910 until 1939, and Cyriac I. Boudreau from 1939 until the disincorporation of the Town. Series consists largely of correspondence carried out with other municipal, provincial, and federal government departments and agencies; companies; and private individuals, in order to carry out the Town’s busines.

Series is arranged alphabetically and has been divided into the following files:

  • Attorney General (1913-1947)
  • Canadian Farm Loan Board (1939-1945)
  • Dependants’ Allowance Board, Department of National Defence (1942-1944)
  • Department of Agriculture (1927-1944)
  • Department of Highways (1921-1947)
  • Department of Municipal Affairs (1936-1947)
  • Department of Munitions and Supply (1943)
  • Dominion Bureau of Statistics (1921-1947)
  • Fire Department (1921-1947)
  • General Correspondence (1921-1947)
  • Henry Waterman, M.L.A. for Yarmouth (1942-1944)
  • Municipality of Argyle (1921-1948)
  • Nova Scotia Electric Company (1944, 1947)
  • Other towns and municipalities (1929-1947)
  • Provincial Civilian Emergency Committee (A.R.P.) (1942-1945)
  • Provincial Issuer of Gasoline Ration Coupon Books (1942-1943)
  • Provincial Secretary and Treasurer (1927-1940)
  • Tax Assessment and Collection (1913-1947)
  • Union of Nova Scotia Municipalities (1921-1947)
  • and Wartime Prices and Trade Board (1942-1946).

Title based on the title of the Town employee who kept most of these records.

The general correspondence file also contains a few items of correspondence to the Clerk of a more personal nature rather than matters of business.